How I save money on food

I was going to make a series of posts with general money saving ideas but actually it’s easier to break it down  into categories.  I find it makes the post easier to follow and means you can tackle one area at a time. 

1. Look for discounted food – I absolutely love going to the supermarket towards the end of the day when perishable items have been reduced. I can’t actually remember the last time I bought a loaf of bread for the full price and some of the fresh fruit/veg is really cheap. Pretty much everything can be frozen so I throw it in the freezer and just take it out when I need it.  

2. Try meat-free Mondays – even if you go for the cheapest cuts of meat it’s still more expensive than eating a plant based diet. Try having a meat free day once per week. It can encourage you to get more adventurous in the kitchen. 

3. Buy in bulk – I am one of those people who will stand in front the shelf and compare the prices of all of the products against the quantity. It can sometimes be much cheaper to buy the bigger bag rather than the smaller one even though the small bag is cheaper. Toilet roll is a great example. I buy a pack of 32 for £5 but I could get 18 for £3.50. The price per roll is 15p and 19p respectively. Not a huge saving but it all adds up.  

4. Batch cook – it works out cheaper to cook large quantities and put extra portions in the freezer so that on the days you don’t want to cook you can just take a meal out of the freezer and heat it up.  

5. Meal plan – If you plan your meals you will know which items you need from the supermarket. Don’t be tempted by the offers if it’s not on the list! 

6. Shop own brand – there’s nothing wrong with supermarket own brands. Some of them even taste better than the originals and are much cheaper. Don’t be embarrassed about buying the own brand products there’s nothing to be ashamed of! 

7.  Buy frozen fruit and veg – I absolutely love fresh fruit and veg but sometimes unless there is a good offer it can be quite expensive. You can get larger quantities and they are usually cheaper than their fresh counterparts, and of course they last longer.  

8. Take a packed lunch – it may not be particularly thrilling at times but it will save huge amounts of money. Even the cheapest meal deals are around £3 and over the course of a year it adds up to a significant amount. I’m not saying you shouldn’t ever buy lunch out but just try it for a couple of weeks and you’ll be surprised how much you can save.  

9. Compare prices – I have been known to visit every supermarket in town (there are 5) trying to find the cheapest product. This will only work if you actually have time to visit each one but I see it as good exercise walking between them! There are also apps out there which can compare prices without you having to leave the sofa! I use My Supermarket and it compares prices across a huge range of shops, not just supermarkets. 

I hope there are some ideas in here that are useful to you. Let me know what you do to save money on food!

Lots of Love

x Beth x

Leave a Reply

