Why am I blogging?

I love to write. I always wanted to be an author when I was at primary school and would spend hours writing on the little coffee table in my parents living room. My first story was called “The Big Hairy Spider” which used to stalk and eat the cast of Neighbours (I never said I was normal did I???). I think that story found its way into the recycling bin years ago which seems a shame now. I still don’t know what possessed me to write about a spider because I have always been terrified of them. Nor do I recall why the cast of Neighbours became the unfortunate victims. It was a source of great amusement for my family at the time.

Over the years I have written various stories with the vague idea that one day I would send them to a publisher. That dream was not to be. I simply do not have the talent to write a novel like some of the great authors out there and every book I read reminds me that the dream was not to be.

So this is the reason I’m starting a blog. I’ve been wanting to start for some years now but had no idea what to write, whether anyone would read it or how to go about setting it up. I’ve decided to bit the bullet and give it a go. 2017 is a year of new beginnings for me and I truly believe this is a positive step.

So what am I actually going to write about?? There are various topics on my mind and I have started drafting a few posts. The basic areas are:

  • Frugality and saving money
  • Minimalism
  • Health and wellbeing
  • The state of the world we live in
  • My house (affectionately known as The Hovel)
  • Positivity

I am not going to commit to how often I can post to my page. I work full time and it involves a lot of travel so I’m not prepared to make a promise I can’t keep. I will however keep posting periodically and I have so many ideas that I hardly know where to begin! My list keeps growing though so watch this space to see what comes out of my happily abnormal brain! 

Lots of love

x Beth x

 

2 thoughts on “Why am I blogging?

  1. Hi Beth, good of you to start this blog! I just wanted to say that you don’t have to believe you’re the next Very Important Writer that writes Literary Art Pieces everytime she picks up a pen.( I would totally read a book about spiders divouring the neighbours. 😀 ) Don’t forget that the books you read also had crappy first, second and third drafts and a gazilion rejections. If you want, you can write a novel, don’t give up on your dream 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

